Chapter 9: Lit Major Shoots Zombies

A new chapter of my fanfiction for The Secret World went up last night!  In Chapter 9 Templar agent Chris Warden will have to team up with Kaiyo Yako and Dan MacFadden of the rival secret societies to help save the survivors of zombie-ridden Kingsmouth, Maine.  In the process, she’ll be forced to face her fear of heights, and a terrifying all-consuming enemy literally from her nightmares!

This was a fun chapter to write, but it took a lot longer than I anticipated.  I feel like if I wanted to, I probably could have split it into two chapters if I wanted to.  That’s something I’ll have to keep in mind on future chapters.  The good news is that since being posted at 2am last night, the chapter has already gained 28 views and 2 positive reviews.  It seems I made the right choice in deciding to write a sequel for this story first.

My only regret, and something my business savvy friends have pointed out, is that I’m not able to make any money off of this work.  Hopefully it will pay off in a larger fan-base that can translate to my other works.  We’ll see.

Regarding those, Sword of the Lady is currently behind schedule as I enter a new round of world-building with it, in hopes of fleshing out the Ilevan’s as a unique people rather than a stereotypical bad guy race.  I’ve found some good resources for this and believe I can do it quickly, or at least get it done enough to work the improvements seemlessly into the final draft, which is currently in progress through chapter 1.

The original sci-fi referenced in my “Astrea Alexandra” posts is still deep in world-building.  Placing it in real, known space has necessitated mapping its star systems using actual stars, and figuring out what’s around all those stars is turning out to be time consuming.  It’s on the back burner, but I’m determined that it will someday see the light of day.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment